Home » AREAS OF EXPERTISE » Commercial leases

Commercial leases

What your lawyer can do for you regarding commercial leases

You need advice, a bailiff (“huissier”) hands you a summons, whether you are a landlord or a tenant, we can assist you, advise you.

Interim payment order

We can initiate a procedure to obtain the payment of the arrears of rent (when you do not wish to break the lease contract)

Resolutory Clause

After a previous order to pay which remained without effect, we can seize the judge to make note that the lease is terminated and recover the premises (if you want to break the lease contract)

#Commercial leases

Garnishment

Obtaining a measure to protect you against the insolvency of your tenant before any legal proceedings or eviction measures.

Company in difficulty,
how to address the situation?

Can my lawyer draft the lease?

The drafting of your commercial lease can be entrusted to your lawyer who will generally submit his/her draft to the tenant’s counsel for his/her review.  To do this, your lawyer has a specific tool at his/her disposal, the “Acte d’Avocat” (art. 1374 of the French Civil Code), which has many advantages, both for the lessor and the lessee, particularly in that it provides greater legal certainty by avoiding numerous subsequent disputes.

My landlord refuses to renew my lease. Does he have the right to do so?

The lessor is entitled to refuse the renewal of the commercial lease but is in principle liable for the payment of an eviction indemnity, which he/she can only escape under very specific conditions, this indemnity having to be equal to the damage caused by the failure to renew. In practice, to determine the amount, a value corresponding to a percentage of the annual turnover will often be used.

I have a commercial lease, can I sublet my premises?

In principle, the subletting of premises rented under a commercial lease is prohibited (L.145-31 of the French Commercial Code). By way of derogation, this will be permitted provided that it has been expressly authorized beforehand, this authorization being the result either of a stipulation in the lease (clause providing for it) or of a special subsequent agreement by the lessor (letter or amendment to the lease). The lessor must also contribute to the deed (art. L.145-31 paragraph 2 of the French Commercial Code).

I cannot find an agreement with my tenant/landlord on the amount of rent for the renewed lease.

When one does not manage to agree on the amount of the renewal rent, it may be useful to try to compromise amicably through one’s lawyer who, in the absence of a possible amicable settlement, will initiate a specific procedure in order to have the new rent fixed by a court decision.

I have refused to renew my tenant's lease and he/she is asking me for eviction compensation. Can I change my mind?

The Commercial Code provides for a right of repentance for a lessor who has refused to renew a lease and who is asked to pay an eviction indemnity that he/she considers too high. In concrete terms, the lessor will be able to retract his/her refusal within a certain period of time and the lease will then be renewed under the same terms and conditions (the renewal rent will still have to be set, however).

My landlord has started a payment procedure, but my situation does not allow me to pay my rent and my expenses, what can I do?

When collection proceedings have been initiated by the lessor against his/her tenant, the latter may ask the judge to take his/her situation into account by deferring or staggering the payment of the sums he/she still owes. This decision issued by the judge suspends the enforcement procedures initiated by the lessor. However, these payment periods may not exceed 24 months.

.

Your team

The team is multidisciplinary, and we combine our skills
and experience because we have our clients’ best interests at heart.

Sylvia
CRUBLEAU-COCHARD

Partner HR

+33 (0)2 41 25 37 05 contact

Master’s degree in Corporate Law

Admitted to the bar in 2001

Bertrand
BRECHETEAU

Partner

+33 (0)2 41 25 72 68 contact

Master’s degree in Private Law

University of Paris II – Panthéon Assas

Admitted to the bar in 1993

Specialist in Commercial,

Business and Competition Law

Jean-Baptiste
GUEDON

Lawyer

02 41 25 72 68 contact

Faculté de Droit d’Angers

Master 2 Contentieux privé

Faculté de Droit de Caen Normandie

 

Ecole des Avocats de Poitiers

 

Prestation de serment en 2020

Newsletter

You wish to receive our newsletter

Avoconseil

Accueil » DOMAINES D’INTERVENTION » Baux commerciaux

Baux commerciaux

Ce que votre avocat peut faire pour vous en matière de baux commerciaux

Vous avez besoin de conseils, un huissier vous remet une assignation, que vous soyez bailleur ou locataire, nous pouvons vous assister, vous conseiller.

Référé-provision

Nous pouvons engager une procédure afin d’obtenir le paiement des loyers arriérés (absence de volonté de rompre le contrat de bail)

Clause résolutoire

Après un commandement préalable de payer qui est resté sans effet, nous pouvons saisir le juge pour faire constater que le bail est résilié et récupérer le local (si volonté de rompre le contrat de bail)

#bauxcommerciaux

Saisie-conservatoire

Obtenir une mesure permettant de se prémunir de l’insolvabilité de son locataire avant tout procès ou mesure d’expulsion.

Entreprise en difficulté,
comment y faire face ?

Mon avocat peut-il se charger de la rédaction du bail ?

La rédaction de votre bail commercial peut être confiée à votre avocat qui, généralement, soumettra son projet aux observations au conseil du locataire. Votre avocat dispose pour ce faire d’un outil spécifique qu’est l’Acte d’Avocat (art. 1374 du Code civil) qui présente de nombreux avantages, tant pour le bailleur que le preneur, notamment en ce qu’il constitue le gage d’une meilleure sécurité juridique en écartant de nombreuses contestations ultérieures.

Mon bailleur me refuse le renouvellement de mon bail, en a-t-il le droit ?

Le bailleur est en droit de refuser le renouvellement du bail commercial mais s’expose en principe au paiement d’une indemnité d’éviction auquel il ne pourra échapper que dans des conditions bien particulières, cette indemnité devant être égale au préjudice causé par le défaut de renouvellement. En pratique, pour déterminer son montant, il sera souvent retenu une valeur correspondant à un pourcentage du chiffre d’affaires annuel.

Je suis titulaire d’un bail commercial, puis-je sous louer mes locaux ?

En principe, la sous-location des locaux loués dans le cadre d’un bail commercial est interdite (L.145-31 du Code de commerce). Par dérogation, celle-ci sera permise à condition d’avoir été expressément autorisée au préalable, cette autorisation pouvant résulter soit d’une stipulation au bail (clause la prévoyant) soit d’un accord ultérieur spécial du bailleur (lettre ou avenant au bail). Le bailleur devra par ailleurs concourir à l’acte (art. L.145-31 alinéa 2 du Code de commerce).

Je ne parviens pas à m’accorder avec mon locataire/bailleur sur le montant du loyer du bail renouvelé, que faire ?

Lorsqu’on l’on ne parvient pas à s’accorder sur le montant du loyer de renouvellement, il peut être utile de tenter de transiger amiablement par le biais de son avocat qui, à défaut de fixation amiable possible, engagera une procédure spécifique aux fins de voir fixé par une décision de justice le nouveau loyer.

J’ai refusé le renouvellement du bail de mon locataire qui me réclame une indemnité d’éviction, puis-je changer d’avis ?

Le Code de commerce prévoit un droit de repentir pour le bailleur qui aurait refusé le renouvellement du bail mais qui se verrait réclamer une indemnité d’éviction lui paraissant trop élevée. Concrètement, le bailleur pourra rétracter son refus dans un certain délai et le bail sera alors renouvelé aux mêmes clauses et conditions (il restera cependant à faire fixer le loyer de renouvellement).

Mon bailleur a engagé une procédure en paiement mais ma situation ne me permet pas de payer mon loyer et mes charges, que puis-je faire ?

Lorsqu’une procédure en recouvrement a été engagée par le bailleur contre son locataire, ce dernier peut demander au juge qu’il tienne compte de sa situation en reportant ou échelonnant le paiement des sommes qu’il reste devoir. Cette décision du juge suspend les procédures d’exécution engagées par le bailleur. Ces délais de paiement ne peuvent toutefois par excéder 24 mois.

.

Votre équipe

L'équipe est pluridisciplinaire et chacun fait profiter aux autres
de ses compétences dans l'intérêt de nos chers clients.

Sylvia
CRUBLEAU-COCHARD

Avocat associé RH

02 41 25 37 05 contact

DESS Droit des entreprises

DU de Médiation (IFOMENE – Institut Catholique de Paris)

Prestation de serment en 2001

Sylvie
RENAULT

Assistante

02 41 25 37 05 contact

Bertrand
BRECHETEAU

Avocat associé

02 41 25 72 68 contact

DEA Droit privé

Université Paris II – Panthéon Assas

Prestation de serment en 1993

Spécialiste en Droit Commercial,

des Affaires et de la Concurrence

Jean-Baptiste
GUEDON

Avocat

02 41 25 72 68 contact

Master 1 Droit privé général

Faculté de Droit d’Angers

Master 2 Contentieux privé

Faculté de Droit de Caen Normandie

 

Ecole des Avocats de Poitiers

 

Prestation de serment en 2020

Margot
TANDILLE

Assistante

02 41 25 72 68 contact

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir notre newsletter

Avoconseil